Way to early 2022-2023 Class AA Rankings:

  1. Moorhead Spuds-

They lose Gavin Lindberg, Carson Triggs and Thomas Schroeder, but return Harper Bentz, leading scorer last season, Aaron Reierson and Joe Kortan up front.  On the Defensive side Joe Gramer ((Nebraska Omaha) Joe Schiller and Colby Krier return along with Goalie Kai Weigel who had 20 wins as a sophomore.  They also welcome a loaded bantam AA team (2022 state champs) to the mix.  It appears that Moorhead will be the favorite to return to the state tournament once again next season out of section 8, which would be their fifth straight.  One of these years it would be good to see them win it all.


  1. Maple Grove Crimson:

The Crimson will have to replace Josh Giuliani, Toby Hopp, Nathan Jaglo, Sawyer Skanson, Parker Wente and Cheyton Fischer.  After a state quarterfinal loss 2 years ago, a state semi-final loss last year, and a state final loss in this years tournament it remains to be seen if they can win it all next season.  They will have the talent to get to that game again with Landen Gunderson, Finn Brink, Jack Kernan and Blake Steenerson.  On the Blue line Danny Nelson is a superstar and Luke Margenau had a very good junior season.  Jack Roach is probably slated to take over in net for Toby Hopp, it will be fun to see if they can put it all together in 2022-2023.


  1. Andover Huskies:

The Class AA champs from this past year return their top line and could possibly repeat as state champs.  They will have to replace Austin Brauns, Weston Knox, Kyle Law, Logan Gavink, Hudson Zinda and Davis Gohman.  They will rely heavily on Gavyn Thoreson, Cayden Casey and Cooper Conway, up front to guide the team early on.  The blue line should see Tristen May-Robinson and Landon Stringfellow and the big question is who will step in for Austin Brauns in the net.  With Grand Rapids graduating quite a bit Andover should be the early favorite to come out of section 7AA.



  1. Chaska Hawks:

Chaska was one win away from its first ever state tournament appearance.  They lose Jack Seaverson, Zach Seltun, Bennett Jax and Timmy Leroy, but return leading scorer Sam Scheetz, Tanner Bruender, Adam Kleber, Sam Spehar and goalie Carter Wishart.  If Sam Rinzel returns for his senior season he will be the front runner for the Mr. Hockey award.  Section 2 is up for grabs next season, Prior Lake loses quite a bit of talent, but Eden Prairie and Minnetonka both will challenge for a trip back to the state tournament.  If Rinzel is back FTP is picking the Chaska Hawks to win the section.


  1. Edina:

The team who is not allowed to use the hornet logo will have to come up with a way to replace Trey Fechko, Willy Johnson, Wyatt Wurst, AJ Doll and Riley Spindler.  They did win the consolation championship this past year, and return some very talented players in, Jimmy Clark, Matt Vandervort, and Jackson Nevers up front.  The D corps will be solid with Caden Morgan, Eddie Revenig and Matt Mullman and goalie Robbie Clarkowski will be back for his third season in net.  Section 6 will be a battle once again with Benilde and Wayzata both returning good teams.  The early favorite for FTP is the Edina Hornets.


  1. Rogers Royals:

The Royals lost in the section championship game to Maple Grove this past season and return most of their team.  The key losses are Hogan Sinjem, Miken Miller and Ty Frederickson.  Coming back are Sam Ranallo (Mr Hockey Finalist?), Carson Melquist, Dawson Jenson, Chase Cheslock and Goalie Cade Chapman who played virtually the entire season in 2021-22.  They will challenge Maple Grove again in section play and it would be so fun to see them make it to the tournament.


  1. Hill Murray Pioneers:

We will probably regret putting the Pioneers below #5 as Bill Lechner just continues to put out winning hockey programs every year.  They lose quite a bit of high end talent, (Dylan Godbout, Leo Gruba, Alex Begley, Nate Hardy, Anthony Madigan, Brendan Bonin, Ben Karr and Jack Senden. Brady Ingebritson is the top returning scorer, (31 points) Ben Miller, Lucas Mann, Caden Sampair and Simon Seidl all come back.  Goalie Jack Erickson stepped in nicely mid season and also comes back.  One of the best freshman D in the state will probably depart for the NTDP, Logan Hensler but if he decides to come back he will be a huge help on the blue line.


  1. Lakeville South Cougars:

Key losses for the Cougars are Ben Portner, Mason Johnson, Joe Guentzel and Austin Stoneking.  Lakeville South can’t be happy about 2 losses at the tournament this past season and hope that returning starters Tanner Ludke, Ashton Dahms, Aidan Willis, Tate Pritchard, Eli Miller, Jackson Ernst, Tyler Lafferty, John Novak and Goalie Jack Hochsprung can propel them to another section championship and a better showing at the tournament next season.


  1. Wayzata Trojans:

The Trojans lost to Edina in the section title game last season and will have to find a way to replace Drew Streeter, John Mattson, Cashen Naeve, Evan Johnson and Reece Gardner.  The returning players look to be one of the best goalies in the state in Will Ingemann, along with Luke Miller, Rhys Wallin, Kasen Sauer Brittan Alstead and Jake Mattson.  If they can get some of the young D to buy in they will be a contender once again in section 6.


10. Minnetonka Skippers:

Minnetonka returns a young team from a season ago.  They will need to replace Teddy Manlove, Tim Lagerback, Wyatt Chartier and Nick Baer.  But return leading scorers Javon Moore, Gavin Garry, Hagen Burrows and leading D man Liam Hupka.  Both goalies are able to return as well, Beau Motzko and Kaiser Nelson shared the duties last year and appear to be on that track again next season barring any big change.  It will be a fun battle in section 2 once again and would not surprise FTP to see the Skippers represent at the X.


  1. Benilde St Margarets
  2. Eden Prairie
  3. Chanhassen
  4. Thomas Academy
  5. Centennial
  6. Eastview
  7. Cretin Derham Hall
  8. White Bear Lake
  9. Shakopee
  10. Gentry Academy
  11. Roseau